Welcome to Hogville!      Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Chicago ND Fan - SEC Book Idea

Started by magoo, April 17, 2014, 11:14:25 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

magoo

Hey All,

My name's Jim March. I'm a teacher from Chicago and I intend on touring the SEC this fall (14 weeks, 14 home games) and writing a book on the football culture of die-hard fans.  As a die-hard Notre Dame fan (you can take shots, I don't hurt easily :P), I understand the live-and-die mentality of college football fans.

I only know cliff notes on Arkansas football (I watch about 1 SEC game a week normally), but I'd love to know what it's like being a Razorback fan and get your guys overall views on the state of your program, etc.

Thanks in advance and I'm lookin forward to getting to know y'all.

Jim

JIMMY BOARFFETT

They're using the term "y'all" in Chicago now?
My sources are unreliable, but their information is fascinating.

Big Papa Satan

Quote from: magoo on April 17, 2014, 11:14:25 pm
Hey All,

My name's Jim March. I'm a teacher from Chicago and I intend on touring the SEC this fall (14 weeks, 14 home games) and writing a book on the football culture of die-hard fans.  As a die-hard Notre Dame fan (you can take shots, I don't hurt easily :P), I understand the live-and-die mentality of college football fans.

I only know cliff notes on Arkansas football (I watch about 1 SEC game a week normally), but I'd love to know what it's like being a Razorback fan and get your guys overall views on the state of your program, etc.

Jim

The first thing to know about the SEC is that there is a portion of every fanbase in it that is completely, utterly insane.

Being a Razorback fan is a bit like being a Cubs fan, in the sense of any championships won were a long time ago (obviously much longer for the Cubs) and the times they've gotten close, strange, heartbreaking things have happened.  As a result, Arkansas' football program could be described as snake bit.

Break & Run