Welcome to Hogville!      Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Was Frank Broyles an "Arkansas Man"?

Started by bphi11ips, February 06, 2014, 11:42:01 am

Previous topic - Next topic

bphi11ips

I seem to have a knack for ending threads with "TLDR" posts.  I posted another one on page four of a thread in response to this statement:

"Allow me to point out, Broyles wasn't an "Arkansas man" that got what being a Razorback was about when he got here."

Those who don't like "War and Peace" posts will want to leave now.  Those who are interested in Frank Broyles and the evolution of the Razorbacks as Arkansas's overwhelmingly dominant college football team may enjoy it, so I will repost here:

For those of you who suggest Broyles wasn't an "Arkansas man", here are the first two paragraphs of his autobiography, Hogwild:

"Quite inadvertently, Bobby Dodd whetted my interest in the University of Arkansas  years ago when I was an assistant coach at Georgia Tech.  We'd be sitting around in a  staff meeting, griping about some recruiting tug-of-war we were having with the University of Georgia Bulldogs.  Dodd would say, 'Boys, just think what we could do if there were no Georgia - only Georgia Tech.'  The one-state, one-team concept is, I suppose, an ancient dream of coaching.  I already knew of such a place.  I'd seen it while working for Bob Woodruff at Baylor University. 

Arkansas!"

In 1949, John Barnhill was diagnosed with multiple sclerosis and retired as Arkansas head coach but remained as athletic director.  He offered Woodruff the job while Broyles was still at Baylor.  Broyles remembers this:

"'Bob, take it, take it, take it.  And take me with you.'  I'd seen Arkansas athletes like Clyde Scott, Muscles Campbell, Billy Hix, Fred Williams and Dave Hanner.  I'd sensed the statewide commitment."