Hogville Info
• 7,547,206 Posts
• 337,178 Topics
• 26,990 Hogvillians
THE RULES (Read 'em!)
Quick Links
Pick'Ems:FootballBasketball
Sister Sites:Gridiron HistoryFearless Friday
Listen NOW:Game ON!Ugly Uncle Show
 Two Cents Radio 
Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down

Author Topic: ESPN3 blackout  (Read 7400 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Hawgfan27

  • Senior
  • *****
  • Karma: +96/-89
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 922
  • Sit back and watch
ESPN3 blackout
« on: April 21, 2012, 11:13:58 am »

Any chance espn3 blacks out the game in arkansas. I'm about to by a converter to stream my computer to my tv but won't bother if it is blacked out.
Logged

mindtoxicity

  • Senior
  • *****
  • Karma: +74/-122
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 829
Re: ESPN3 blackout
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2012, 11:16:01 am »

Maybe. Sometimes they black out local areas if there is a contract with a local station to show it.

You can try to stream it here: http://www.[CENSORED].eu/sport/american-football.html

Quality won't be as great though

Edit: Didn't expect that to get censored. heh
Logged

Sponsored Ad



Hogville encourages you to do business with the following...
Your browser is archaic. Your browser is antiquated. Your browser... it FILS! Update it, please.

Hawgfan27

  • Senior
  • *****
  • Karma: +96/-89
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 922
  • Sit back and watch
Re: ESPN3 blackout
« Reply #2 on: April 21, 2012, 11:18:09 am »

Any way you could pm me that site? Much appreciated.
Logged

beebefootballfan

  • All-American Hogvillian
  • *******
  • Karma: +505/-770
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4,115
Re: ESPN3 blackout
« Reply #3 on: April 21, 2012, 11:18:12 am »

blacked out in arkansas iirc
Logged

Hogbody

  • Gold Hogvillian
  • *********
  • Karma: +447/-705
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 14,782
  • Swagger Wagon. Blee Dat
Re: ESPN3 blackout
« Reply #4 on: April 21, 2012, 11:19:21 am »

blacked out in arkansas iirc

I'll be pissed
Logged

Hawgfan27

  • Senior
  • *****
  • Karma: +96/-89
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 922
  • Sit back and watch
Re: ESPN3 blackout
« Reply #5 on: April 21, 2012, 11:19:46 am »

That is terrible news. I don't know any one with Cox Sports Channel. Very poor partnership choice.
Logged

beebefootballfan

  • All-American Hogvillian
  • *******
  • Karma: +505/-770
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4,115
Re: ESPN3 blackout
« Reply #6 on: April 21, 2012, 11:21:47 am »

That is terrible news. I don't know any one with Cox Sports Channel. Very poor partnership choice.

Yea wish ESPN would have just picked the dang thing up, but they didn't jump in untill the BP fiasco.
Logged

TDHawgs

  • Senior
  • *****
  • Karma: +358/-119
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,091
  • Surfing the web at Hogville.net
Re: ESPN3 blackout
« Reply #7 on: April 21, 2012, 11:22:04 am »

Just download [CENSORED] and it will give you an out of area ip address and then you can watch it on ESPN3
Logged

moses_007

  • Hall of Fame Hogvillian
  • *******
  • Karma: +3654/-12044
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 10,584
Re: ESPN3 blackout
« Reply #8 on: April 21, 2012, 11:24:17 am »

Any chance espn3 blacks out the game in arkansas. I'm about to by a converter to stream my computer to my tv but won't bother if it is blacked out.

Don't bother then since it is blacked out in Arkansas.  Listen to it on the Arkansas Radio Network... it's your only option.
Logged

Hawgfan27

  • Senior
  • *****
  • Karma: +96/-89
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 922
  • Sit back and watch
Re: ESPN3 blackout
« Reply #9 on: April 21, 2012, 11:25:17 am »

Well damnet.
"Arkansas Spring Football: The Red And White Game (subject to blackout)"

Do you know if I will be able to watch the replay?
Logged

TDHawgs

  • Senior
  • *****
  • Karma: +358/-119
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,091
  • Surfing the web at Hogville.net
Re: ESPN3 blackout
« Reply #10 on: April 21, 2012, 11:27:20 am »

Don't bother then since it is blacked out in Justin.  Listen to it on the Arkansas Radio Network... it's your only option.

Not true, I watch any blackout game on ESPN3 by using a program like i mentioned above
Logged

Hawgfan27

  • Senior
  • *****
  • Karma: +96/-89
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 922
  • Sit back and watch
Re: ESPN3 blackout
« Reply #11 on: April 21, 2012, 11:31:17 am »

Not true, I watch any blackout game on ESPN3 by using a program like i mentioned above

You're my hero, I just downloaded [CENSORED], and checked and espn said "my area is not subjected to blackout."  Thanks so much.
Logged

TDHawgs

  • Senior
  • *****
  • Karma: +358/-119
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,091
  • Surfing the web at Hogville.net
Re: ESPN3 blackout
« Reply #12 on: April 21, 2012, 11:37:39 am »

You're my hero, I just downloaded [CENSORED], and checked and espn said "my area is not subjected to blackout."  Thanks so much.
No problem.. enjoy the game...
Logged

Hawgfan27

  • Senior
  • *****
  • Karma: +96/-89
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 922
  • Sit back and watch
Re: ESPN3 blackout
« Reply #13 on: April 21, 2012, 11:37:58 am »

Not true, I watch any blackout game on ESPN3 by using a program like i mentioned above

Sorry, now it's asking for a password for remote access, how do you get around that?
Logged

moses_007

  • Hall of Fame Hogvillian
  • *******
  • Karma: +3654/-12044
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 10,584
Re: ESPN3 blackout
« Reply #14 on: April 21, 2012, 11:41:25 am »

[CENSORED] changed my IP address to San Jose, CA.  Now I can watch the spring game~!!!!
Logged

TDHawgs

  • Senior
  • *****
  • Karma: +358/-119
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,091
  • Surfing the web at Hogville.net
Re: ESPN3 blackout
« Reply #15 on: April 21, 2012, 11:42:49 am »

[CENSORED] changed my IP address to San Jose, CA.  Now I can watch the spring game~!!!!
Yeah it's a pretty good program, there are others but it's solid and easier to setup.
Logged

TDHawgs

  • Senior
  • *****
  • Karma: +358/-119
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,091
  • Surfing the web at Hogville.net
Re: ESPN3 blackout
« Reply #16 on: April 21, 2012, 11:43:35 am »

Sorry, now it's asking for a password for remote access, how do you get around that?
Do you have a ATT or an account that ESPN will allow you to login?
Logged

Hawgfan27

  • Senior
  • *****
  • Karma: +96/-89
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 922
  • Sit back and watch
Re: ESPN3 blackout
« Reply #17 on: April 21, 2012, 11:45:35 am »

Southwestern bell
Logged

CorndogCooker

  • Band Nerd
  • **
  • Karma: +1/-4
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
  • So you're saying there's a chance?
Re: ESPN3 blackout
« Reply #18 on: April 21, 2012, 11:46:00 am »

I just checked, and it doesn't seem like it will be blacked out for me (central AR)

unless I'm missing something.
Logged

IBleedRazorbackRed

  • Senior
  • *****
  • Karma: +247/-248
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,494
  • Die Hard Hog Fan From Glen Rose
Re: ESPN3 blackout
« Reply #19 on: April 21, 2012, 11:48:16 am »

It's not blacked out. click on the subject to blackout link and it says that you aren't subject to a blackout.
Logged

Hawgfan27

  • Senior
  • *****
  • Karma: +96/-89
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 922
  • Sit back and watch
Re: ESPN3 blackout
« Reply #20 on: April 21, 2012, 11:50:50 am »

I did, and it said t wasn't available in my area
Logged

IBleedRazorbackRed

  • Senior
  • *****
  • Karma: +247/-248
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,494
  • Die Hard Hog Fan From Glen Rose
Re: ESPN3 blackout
« Reply #21 on: April 21, 2012, 11:53:20 am »

I did, and it said t wasn't available in my area

hmmm I live in Benton and it said it wasn't going to be blacked out in my area.
Logged

TDHawgs

  • Senior
  • *****
  • Karma: +358/-119
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,091
  • Surfing the web at Hogville.net
Re: ESPN3 blackout
« Reply #22 on: April 21, 2012, 11:53:31 am »

I did, and it said t wasn't available in my area
Yeah same here, I'm showing blackout, unless I use a software to change my public IP address.. was you able to use a login to access ESPN?
Logged

TDHawgs

  • Senior
  • *****
  • Karma: +358/-119
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,091
  • Surfing the web at Hogville.net
Re: ESPN3 blackout
« Reply #23 on: April 21, 2012, 11:54:35 am »

hmmm I live in Benton and it said it wasn't going to be blacked out in my area.
Probably doesn't recognize your ISP's public IP address range, as being in the blackout area.
Logged

Ex-Trumpet

  • Hall of Fame Hogvillian
  • *******
  • Karma: +1034/-984
  • Online Online
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 9,495
  • When life gives you lemons, get a boob job!
Re: ESPN3 blackout
« Reply #24 on: April 21, 2012, 11:54:52 am »

Why would they black it out?  There won't be 1000 people outside of the blackout area that will be watching it!
Logged

moses_007

  • Hall of Fame Hogvillian
  • *******
  • Karma: +3654/-12044
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 10,584
Re: ESPN3 blackout
« Reply #25 on: April 21, 2012, 11:54:56 am »

Yeah it's a pretty good program, there are others but it's solid and easier to setup.

Only problem is you get this ignorant toolbar that shows up on every single internet page loaded.  Is there a way to turn this toolbar off?
Logged

TDHawgs

  • Senior
  • *****
  • Karma: +358/-119
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,091
  • Surfing the web at Hogville.net
Re: ESPN3 blackout
« Reply #26 on: April 21, 2012, 11:57:23 am »

Only problem is you get this ignorant toolbar that shows up on every single internet page loaded.  Is there a way to turn this toolbar off?

Well, you might have not uncheck loading it when you installed it. Yeah after you don't need it, just uninstall it if it bugs you. Small price to pay to watch the game though.
Logged

levans

  • Bench Warmer
  • ***
  • Karma: +4/-5
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 62
Re: ESPN3 blackout
« Reply #27 on: April 21, 2012, 12:00:19 pm »

It will be on comcast if you have that and are not work.
Logged

TDHawgs

  • Senior
  • *****
  • Karma: +358/-119
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,091
  • Surfing the web at Hogville.net
Re: ESPN3 blackout
« Reply #28 on: April 21, 2012, 12:02:53 pm »

Only problem is you get this ignorant toolbar that shows up on every single internet page loaded.  Is there a way to turn this toolbar off?
Ok, I just installed the newest version to see what was going on. Looks like they added a new toolbar, so I'd just uninstall it, and reinstall it, and when it says Install [CENSORED] Toolbar, uncheck that box. Then you should not have the toolbar.
Logged

moses_007

  • Hall of Fame Hogvillian
  • *******
  • Karma: +3654/-12044
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 10,584
Re: ESPN3 blackout
« Reply #29 on: April 21, 2012, 12:03:52 pm »


Well, you might have not uncheck loading it when you installed it. Yeah after you don't need it, just uninstall it if it bugs you. Small price to pay to watch the game though.

I've paid for the PPV of the first Hogs game each of the last two years.  Were our opening games on ESPN3, but blacked out?  If so, now we can watch them for free.
Logged

moses_007

  • Hall of Fame Hogvillian
  • *******
  • Karma: +3654/-12044
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 10,584
Re: ESPN3 blackout
« Reply #30 on: April 21, 2012, 12:05:25 pm »

Ok, I just installed the newest version to see what was going on. Looks like they added a new toolbar, so I'd just uninstall it, and reinstall it, and when it says Install [CENSORED] Toolbar, uncheck that box. Then you should not have the toolbar.

I unchecked that box for a toolbar during the initial install.  But it's there anyway.
Logged

TDHawgs

  • Senior
  • *****
  • Karma: +358/-119
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,091
  • Surfing the web at Hogville.net
Re: ESPN3 blackout
« Reply #31 on: April 21, 2012, 12:08:05 pm »

I unchecked that box for a toolbar during the initial install.  But it's there anyway.
Hum... I don't have the problem.. Look to see if in the Programs you can uninstall just the toolbar. What browser are you using?
Logged

moses_007

  • Hall of Fame Hogvillian
  • *******
  • Karma: +3654/-12044
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 10,584
Re: ESPN3 blackout
« Reply #32 on: April 21, 2012, 12:12:33 pm »

Hum... I don't have the problem.. Look to see if in the Programs you can uninstall just the toolbar. What browser are you using?


Using Firefox.  Now I see...you can just disconnect it and it only leaves a tiny little icon at the top right of the browser, with no toolbar.  When you connect, the toolbar will show up again.  But that's okay for the game.
Logged

TDHawgs

  • Senior
  • *****
  • Karma: +358/-119
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,091
  • Surfing the web at Hogville.net
Re: ESPN3 blackout
« Reply #33 on: April 21, 2012, 12:14:54 pm »

Using Firefox.  Now I see...you can just disconnect it and it only leaves a tiny little icon at the top right of the browser, with no toolbar.  When you connect, the toolbar will show up again.  But that's okay for the game.
I'm testing this and I see what your talking about, it's not a toolbar, it's the ads that help pay for the service, but if you download Ad Block Plus for Firefox, it will take those away... :)  That's why I didn't even see them..
Logged

thalilcrzydawg

  • Senior
  • *****
  • Karma: +321/-124
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1,204
  • Woo Pig Sooie!
Re: ESPN3 blackout
« Reply #34 on: April 21, 2012, 12:15:24 pm »

Just download [CENSORED] and it will give you an out of area ip address and then you can watch it on ESPN3
Where do you download this at? I usually watch the Espn app on my Xbox.
Logged

TDHawgs

  • Senior
  • *****
  • Karma: +358/-119
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,091
  • Surfing the web at Hogville.net
Re: ESPN3 blackout
« Reply #35 on: April 21, 2012, 12:21:23 pm »

Where do you download this at? I usually watch the Espn app on my Xbox.
It's for PC, it's a vpn software that will give you an IP address away from our area, so it will allow you to watch the blackout games. If your going to watch it on your Xbox, the only way to bypass it is by adding proxy settings to your dsl modem,etc.. way too much trouble. If its' showing blackout on your Xbox, just watch it on your computer with the [CENSORED] software.. at anchorfree.com/
Logged

HF#1

  • Gold Hogvillian
  • *********
  • Karma: +1663/-3324
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21,592
Re: ESPN3 blackout
« Reply #36 on: April 21, 2012, 12:22:32 pm »

Jimmy Dykes is calling the game on ESPN3.  Not sure who the play by play guy is.
Logged

thalilcrzydawg

  • Senior
  • *****
  • Karma: +321/-124
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1,204
  • Woo Pig Sooie!
Re: ESPN3 blackout
« Reply #37 on: April 21, 2012, 12:22:55 pm »

I'll have to check on that. Thanks!
Logged

TDHawgs

  • Senior
  • *****
  • Karma: +358/-119
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,091
  • Surfing the web at Hogville.net
Re: ESPN3 blackout
« Reply #38 on: April 21, 2012, 12:23:54 pm »

I'll have to check on that. Thanks!
Uncheck the install Hotshield Toolbar when installing.
Logged

Hawgfan27

  • Senior
  • *****
  • Karma: +96/-89
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 922
  • Sit back and watch
Re: ESPN3 blackout
« Reply #39 on: April 21, 2012, 12:27:17 pm »

If anyone could pm me a remote access username and password I'll owe you big time. I'm only interested in viewing the spring game, I was planning on going all year but the girlfriend got sick.
Logged

deblaylock06

Re: ESPN3 blackout
« Reply #40 on: April 21, 2012, 12:29:15 pm »

Uncheck the install Hotshield Toolbar when installing.

+1 here's your sign ;)
Logged

Spider-Pig

  • All-American Hogvillian
  • *******
  • Karma: +234/-704
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4,726
Re: ESPN3 blackout
« Reply #41 on: April 21, 2012, 12:31:43 pm »

I've paid for the PPV of the first Hogs game each of the last two years.  Were our opening games on ESPN3, but blacked out?  If so, now we can watch them for free.

PPV games are not on espn3.
Logged

hogs dont cry

  • Varsity
  • ****
  • Karma: +90/-228
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 394
Re: ESPN3 blackout
« Reply #42 on: April 21, 2012, 12:34:21 pm »

It's for PC, it's a vpn software that will give you an IP address away from our area, so it will allow you to watch the blackout games. If your going to watch it on your Xbox, the only way to bypass it is by adding proxy settings to your dsl modem,etc.. way too much trouble. If its' showing blackout on your Xbox, just watch it on your computer with the [CENSORED] software.. at anchorfree.com/

You are a stud my man.  Thanks for sharing your tricks with the rest of us!
Logged

TDHawgs

  • Senior
  • *****
  • Karma: +358/-119
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,091
  • Surfing the web at Hogville.net
Re: ESPN3 blackout
« Reply #43 on: April 21, 2012, 12:38:26 pm »

You are a stud my man.  Thanks for sharing your tricks with the rest of us!
Glad I could help, computers and networking is what I do for a living, so anyway I can help you guys, I'll try.. One note of clarify.. if you don't want to see those ads you need Firefox with the Ad Block Plus add on. Plus this is only going to get you around the blackout, you'll still need to have an account that will allow ESPN3 access.
Logged

shearman1

  • Varsity
  • ****
  • Karma: +8/-11
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 208
Re: ESPN3 blackout
« Reply #44 on: April 21, 2012, 12:43:20 pm »

Just download [CENSORED] and it will give you an out of area ip address and then you can watch it on ESPN3

works great
Logged

arky870

  • Varsity
  • ****
  • Karma: +84/-167
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 425
  • Surfing the web at Hogville.net
Re: ESPN3 blackout
« Reply #45 on: April 21, 2012, 12:45:59 pm »

i live in sheridan and it says not subject to blackout for me
Logged

TDHawgs

  • Senior
  • *****
  • Karma: +358/-119
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,091
  • Surfing the web at Hogville.net
Re: ESPN3 blackout
« Reply #46 on: April 21, 2012, 12:49:00 pm »

i live in sheridan and it says not subject to blackout for me
That's good, just watch it like normal then. Basically your ISP's Public IP address isn't considered to be in the blackout area for some reason. Which is something you shouldn't complain about.. :)
Logged

choralscholar

  • Varsity
  • ****
  • Karma: +19/-13
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 284
  • Hmmm... I see what you did there...
Re: ESPN3 blackout
« Reply #47 on: April 21, 2012, 12:49:55 pm »

When I looked earlier, someone mentioned they were airing it on KATV Retro (digital subchannel) - but now that message is gone.

Was that post deleted, or just on another thread?
Logged

wwwhogfan

  • Varsity
  • ****
  • Karma: +18/-62
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 211
Re: ESPN3 blackout
« Reply #48 on: April 21, 2012, 12:52:13 pm »

I live in Fort Smith and it is not blacked out for me.
Logged

kibster

  • Senior
  • *****
  • Karma: +70/-38
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,210
Re: ESPN3 blackout
« Reply #49 on: April 21, 2012, 12:56:30 pm »

It will be on comcast if you have that and are not work.

What channel will it be on?
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Up
 

Partnered with USA TODAY Sports Digital Properties

Your browser is archaic. Your browser is antiquated. Your browser... it FILS! Update it, please.
KARK
KWNA
Fox 16 Arkansas Your browser is archaic. Your browser is antiquated. Your browser... it FILS! Update it, please.