Welcome to Hogville!      Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Thoughts on early retirement

Started by pheine78, January 11, 2014, 05:41:45 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

pheine78

Well, I am in the Air Force and with the huge cut coming up the next few years I am eligible for early retirement.  As an E7, the loss will be about $300 a month if I retire in 1 August ($1.7K versus $2K).  Not bad considering I am looking at probably 2 more deployments and an assignment to lord knows where in the meantime.  With that said, $300 a month (and obviously more for longevity raises and possible promotions) that is a lot to lose over the course of a lifetime.  I have an MBA from Morehead State and I am almost finished with an MA, I was thinking about using my GI bill for three years, getting a PHD from a good school and rolling with that.  Or possibly just getting a decent job and pressing on.  Advice from fellow vets/active duty?  That $300 or so per month might add up over time.  Then again, my kids are young so the extra time I will spend with them is priceless.  What say ya'll? 
Nolan for defensive coordinator!

TeufelHog

I would stay until 20 and then retire.  If nothing else, it gives you a paycheck over the next two - three years (guessing since you didn't reveal current time-in-service) while you are planning your exit strategy thoroughly.  Also gives you job security while this economy and job market HOPEFULLY ADJUSTS.  Suck up the next move, or couple deployments, and finish the 20. If Congress doesn't retract the COLA issue from the recent "Budget Deal" it's going to be a lot more than $300 monthly over the course of your retirement.  In other words, you'll need the few extra retirement percentages in your "High-Three" calculation to off-set the COLA adjustment between ages 39 and 62.

Flying Razorback