Welcome to Hogville!      Do Not Sell My Personal Information

New Formula for predicting point spreads

Started by arkfanchip, December 29, 2007, 04:03:18 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

arkfanchip

December 29, 2007, 04:03:18 pm Last Edit: December 30, 2007, 03:37:58 pm by arkfanchip
Ok I'm not a heavy better but I have been betting small amounts on games for about 5 years now.  For the past 5 years I've just went with my gut feeling and I'm probably close to 50/50.  So the past few weeks I've been coming up with a formula to try to predict the point spreads and I've came up with one that I think will work.  So far this bowl season (if Wake wins by more than 2) I'm 4-0.  Picking Texas, Mich St., O. State, and WF.  The formula is very confusing but I'll post it to see if you think it's a good one or not. 

Team A & Team B

I take the last 4 non-overtime games against BCS teams and total up the total rushing and passing yards for the offense and defense.

arkfanchip

Just did the Mizzou/Ark game and my numbers predict Mizzou by 10 points. 

hogs25

What about MSU and Pats game tonight?  If it works you want have to work again. 

arkfanchip

UCF is not a team in a BCS conf. this is way more accurate when comparing two teams with similar strengths of schedule.

arkfanchip

I did the Alamo Bowl today and it predicts Penn State to win by 5 points and since the point spread is 6 that's to close for me to bet on. 

MuskogeeHogFan

Quote from: arkfanchip on December 29, 2007, 04:22:49 pm
Just did the Mizzou/Ark game and my numbers predict Mizzou by 10 points. 

My calculations have them by 4, 35-31.
Go Hogs Go!

arkfanchip

December 29, 2007, 06:27:07 pm #6 Last Edit: December 29, 2007, 07:43:06 pm by arkfanchip
Ok my predictions for tonight's game and tom. game

Penn State   24.5
Texas A&M   19

Alabama       32
Colorado       16

So I'm going to bet on Alabama since they are a 4 point favorite.  I'm staying away from tonight's game. 

Clemson        24