Welcome to Hogville!      Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Backseat Coaches

Started by yocdaddy, February 05, 2006, 11:09:15 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

yocdaddy

I am new to hogville as a member, but I have read the forums for quite some time now.  I am appalled by all the criticism of the basketball program and coach heath.  First of all, basketball coaching (for all of you who apparently have no idea) is completely different than football coaching.  Think about it, football coaches have 15 or 20 seconds to call the play and get the players set up with absolutely no interference by the defense.  Secondly, basketball coaches don't get to play their best five defenders or offense players at the same time.  They must mix their team according to specific philosophies.  Finally, basketball coaches can't call timeouts on defense when it is apparent the other team is running a specific play to score. 

Most of you probably still don't get the picture.  Coaching in college basketball is finding talented players to run your system.  And, once you find those players, they must make plays.  You ever wonder why there are so many more upsets in college basketball than college football?  Answer: Because 90% of all college basketball games don't come down to coaching X's and O's.  If it did, the teams with the great coaches would never get upset.  It comes down to which team has the most talent or which team makes more plays.  In those 10% of games that coaching actually decides the outcome, the players must still make the plays.  You need evidence, Bobby Knight (arguably one of the finest X's and O's coach ever) is barely .500 this season.  Ahhh.....you say he doesn't have the talent to win now.  That's right he don't, and by that, you are saying it comes down to players.  Preferably players who can make plays.