Welcome to Hogville!      Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Any American or American Eagle pilots out there....

Started by jonesark™, November 29, 2011, 09:50:01 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

jonesark™

What do you think about today's news? I'm pretty new to commercial flying so I'm just going to expect the worse...

theFlyingHog

I'm not an airline pilot but I know a bunch of them. This stuff won't be fun for anybody but in the long run it will be better for the company(ies), and therefore, the employees. (Would you rather lose some pension, or your job and everything that goes with it?) AMR has been at a disadvantage being the only legacy to not restructure under Ch 11 in the last decade. I'll sure be buying stock if I've got some cash on hand...

Brownstreak

Quote from: theFlyingHog on November 30, 2011, 12:51:49 am
I'm not an airline pilot but I know a bunch of them. This stuff won't be fun for anybody but in the long run it will be better for the company(ies), and therefore, the employees. (Would you rather lose some pension, or your job and everything that goes with it?) AMR has been at a disadvantage being the only legacy to not restructure under Ch 11 in the last decade. I'll sure be buying stock if I've got some cash on hand...

I would bet good money that pilot pay and pensions are less than 5% of AMRs expenses, so in reality it won't help the bottom line that much.  What it will do is look good to the board members, stock holders and wall street.
Anyone want to take bets on management taking the same percentage of pay cuts and forgoing bonuses?

theFlyingHog

Quote from: Brownstreak on November 30, 2011, 08:19:49 am
I would bet good money that pilot pay and pensions are less than 5% of AMRs expenses, so in reality it won't help the bottom line that much.  What it will do is look good to the board members, stock holders and wall street.
Anyone want to take bets on management taking the same percentage of pay cuts and forgoing bonuses?