Welcome to Hogville!      Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Avionics/Electrical Questions

Started by MDH, November 01, 2012, 05:47:36 am

Previous topic - Next topic

MDH

November 01, 2012, 05:47:36 am Last Edit: November 01, 2012, 05:53:03 am by MDH
Let me preface this by saying I am not trying to drum up business for my shop, we have way more than we can handle at this point and have been turning some people away.  Also I am in no way interested in side work, I do 50ish hours a week of Avionics work and I don't want to spend volumes of my free time doing avionics work.

I've been doing Avionics for 21 years now on everything from Van's RV's to Gulfstream 550's.  I've got a fairly broad spectrum of knowledge, though a master of none of it- I don't think you ever can be.  It can be an intellectually humbling line of work.

There are times we get people come in for service work and it ends up being something simple that with a bit of guided advice they could have figured out on their own, which would have saved them money (Switchology, etc.).

So if you have any Avionics/Electrical questions, this is the thread for it rather than me jumping in and hijacking other threads.  It doesn't necessarily have to be about a problem, if you are just curious about something I'll do my best to explain.  I have no intention of telling someone I only know on Hogville to do any kind of work that could in any way affect the safety of their aircraft.  At these points I would say see a mechanic or avionics shop.

There are times when I get so busy I'm not around these boards for a week or more so I may not be prompt on my replies.  I generally do check in every day or two, though.