Welcome to Hogville!      Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Does the womens softball team get an NCAA bid?

Started by flippinhogmana, May 14, 2017, 08:57:23 am

Previous topic - Next topic

flippinhogmana

May 14, 2017, 08:57:23 am Last Edit: May 14, 2017, 07:01:12 pm by flippinhogmana
If so where do you think it might be?  Will it be one and done?  Will the hogs advance?  How far?  Who will we face and how would we be seeded?  What region?  Inquiring minds that support hogs softball are asking these questions...
Like the erstwhile Clark Kent, my true identity is shielded.  I am an author, Nathan J. Allison is my pen name.

psycHOGlogist

Yes, we'll get a bid. We will be a #2 seed, most likely, in a regional.

I've seen speculation that we'll be sent to Norman (the nearest team that's hosting a regional and not in the SEC) or out West, perhaps Seattle. It's very difficult to predict where the #2 seeds will get sent, given the rules that you cannot be sent to a regional hosted by someone in your conference.

The NCAA is a double elimination tournament, so we can't be one and done. It's possible that we go 0-2-BBQ, but doubtful. The format for regionals is 1 vs 4, 2 vs 3, winners play, losers play, etc., through a double elimination format. The #4 seed teams are usually not very strong. Will we advance to a super-regional? The odds are against us (they're supposed to be), but again, depending on which regional we go to, it's hard to know for sure.

flippinhogmana

The NCAA is a double elimination tournament, so we can't be one and done.  I guess I should have known that.  One would think that it would be the same formula as the baseball tournament.