Welcome to Hogville!      Do Not Sell My Personal Information

I'm a coach B guy.. but

Started by jh0486, October 08, 2016, 10:19:18 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

jh0486

Will we ever be able to recruit the talent beat Alabama at their own game? I love how coach B has built the program from an academic and character perspective, but I have serious doubts about any long term success using his antiquated philosophies. We do have a much more dynamic offense with Enos and I think he is an amazing coordinator, but it's still not the right one, IMO.

What teams give Alabama trouble? Up-tempo spread teams. If Saban even realized that he needed to change to continue to win, why can't Bielema?

In my opinion, we will never recruit the talent to compete consistently with Alabama, LSU (with a good coach), or Texas A&M (Chavis is going to build a monster) at the line of scrimmage. We can however recruit undersized speed guys that can make plays in space. If I was looking at how I thought I could compete in the SEC-West in a less than ideal recruiting situation (comparative to my competition), I would be running a shotgun quick pass offense to overcome my weakness at the point of attack. Think of how two good one-cut backs like RWIII and Whaley could be in a zone shotgun run scheme?

There may be years like last year when we have a solidified group that can manage the line of scrimmage with the elite of the SEC, but I don't think we'll ever be able to depend on that year to year.

I'm still behind coach B 100%, but I'd be lying if I said I wouldn't trade him for a Chip Kelly type (he'll be open in a year or two after the SF stint).
Censored

razorbackchamps94

JustoHogFan

Our philosophy was not the problem tonight, it was our coaching and lack of quality players at key positions on the oline and everywhere on defense.

jcharkansas

We just won't ever be able to compete without the type of talent these other teams are getting

jh0486