Welcome to Hogville!      Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Bought a Brinkman Trailmaster offset smoker

Started by ldfergu, July 07, 2015, 08:17:00 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

ldfergu

Also getting a charcoal basket and gasket to keep the door sealed and the smoke inside. Any of you have one of these? I'm a rookie and need advice for how to control temp a little better. Ribs turned out alright today but would like to try and get em to fall off the bone a little easier

majestic

Did you wrap your ribs? I got rid of my offset smoker precisely due to temperature control issues.
Voluntary epidemiologist - Voted for W in 08

ldfergu

I didn't. I'm guessing that's prob a key component. Regardless they still had really good flavor. My temp stayed within 30 degrees back and forth and I think it would be easier if I had larger blocks of wood. 

Gonna try round 2 on Monday. I'm thinkin pork shoulder or butt

PharmacistHog

My offset seemed to want to lock in at a certain temp no matter what. I could get it to some slightly varying temps, but not anything huge. I just learned to cook at that temp which was about 240 degrees. I just went with that and learned approximate times for the different cuts I would smoke. Worked pretty good but a little more labor intensive. I dont think Ive used it since I got my egg. The egg can just do it all. It might not be the BEST at everything, it is very good at MOST things.
Quote from: GA reddiehog on May 18, 2019, 12:36:02 pm<br />Hogs have hit a wall at the wrong time of the season.  I will go on record now and say they may not even get out of their regional.  The hitting has been carrying them with a few good pitching outings but they just don't have the reliable pitching they need to get back to the CWS.<br />