Welcome to Hogville!      Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Beginner

Started by agr347, February 21, 2008, 11:50:39 am

Previous topic - Next topic

agr347

I have been playing (well attempting to play) for the last 8 months or so, and am still having trouble hitting my irons with any kind of consistency.  I am a big guy and don't have a lot of flexibility so I am sure that may be part of the problem, but  I have been working to correct this.  I have gotten fairly decent with my driver, but still pretty much suck when it comes to actually getting it onto the greens after my drives.  Any suggestions?
"Just remember, its not a lie if you believe it." -George Costanza

SEClion

Go get a lesson from a PGA professional at your local course.

Thunderhog Jr

:razorback:

The thing that helped me with my irons was to shorten my backswing, use a club or two more, put my weight on my left side and concentrate on making good contact more than worry about where it goes.  Once I started making good contact I started hitting it straighter.  I then slowly lenghtend my backswing which allowed me to club down normally.  Once you start making good contact your confidence in your irons should improve.  You might want to start by just using a chipping motion and work from there.  Oh yeah, accelerate through the ball.

:razorback:

WPS  <br />Remember the days when we were a national power??  What the Hell happened?

hog49

Quote from: SEClion on February 21, 2008, 12:08:50 pm
Go get a lesson from a PGA professional at your local course.
SEClion is right.  Take lessons from a good , PGA teaching pro.   Start lessons before you develop any more bad habits.