Welcome to Hogville!      Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Good healthcare companies worth buying into??

Started by CFB_Fanatic, May 26, 2015, 01:25:41 am

Previous topic - Next topic

CFB_Fanatic

Ive seen a few health care companies that make new products, medicines, etc for the health care field and I know thats one of the strongest areas of investment at the moment. Any good comapnies worth looking into?? Although Im a nurse I dont know much about the investment side of things. Any help would be appreciated.

BENTON PIGGEE

Biotech has been going up, but lots of times individual companies have bad surprises. I have been trading XBI, a biotech exchange traded fund with a good amount of smaller companies that have homerun potential. 5 of their top 10 holdings are up over 100% year to date, with XBI being up 50% in the same time frame.

CFB_Fanatic

Quote from: BENTON PIGGEE on July 13, 2015, 10:30:58 pm
Biotech has been going up, but lots of times individual companies have bad surprises. I have been trading XBI, a biotech exchange traded fund with a good amount of smaller companies that have homerun potential. 5 of their top 10 holdings are up over 100% year to date, with XBI being up 50% in the same time frame.

SOLID! Thanks! Ill have to look into them. I was told to hold off on healthcare though because apparantly in 2017 there will be a new shakeup in the federal health plans and how medical companies receive payment that could seriously decrease profit margins. I could trade until then but I dont want to get stuck in either, or sell at a loss

BENTON PIGGEE

Quote from: CFB_Fanatic on July 20, 2015, 12:22:44 am
SOLID! Thanks! Ill have to look into them. I was told to hold off on healthcare though because apparantly in 2017 there will be a new shakeup in the federal health plans and how medical companies receive payment that could seriously decrease profit margins. I could trade until then but I dont want to get stuck in either, or sell at a loss