Welcome to Hogville!      Do Not Sell My Personal Information

How to fix the Kicking game

Started by pignparadise, September 15, 2017, 11:13:09 am

Previous topic - Next topic

pignparadise

Here is my once a year post on kicking. **WARNING IT IS NOT A QUICK FIX** but over a couple of years you would see dramatic improvement.
Kicking field goals is a detailed mind game and I am speaking from some experience. It is a job unlike all others in sport. As a Special Teams coach, I would do the following:

1. Install Arena type goal posts (9' wide) on my practice field. My kickers would only kick to these goal posts except on game days. On game day the 18' wide goal posts would seem like a wide cavern easy to enter. When a kicker lines up to try a long field goal he really isn't thinking about how long it is. He is thinking about how narrow it looks and how his margin for error left and right is so small.

2. I would give personality tests to all kicking recruits. What you want is a Prima Donna Showman who wants the limelight ala Steve Little. My friend Steve Cox once said you have to cheer for the other team's defense against your offense so you can come in and be a Badass and save the day. How many times have you seen the kicker warming up and has that look of dread on his face.

3. I would put a lot of emphasis on my holder. His ability to place the ball on the exact spot is paramount. I would film over and over the snapper and the holder executing this without the kicker- charting and analyzing his ability to place the ball exactly on the spot. Would use a white dot on the field turf and a piece of fuss or tape in the game.  My back up Deep Snapper would be used to intentionally snap bad snaps to analyze again his ability to place accurately during duress. Remember the kicker is starting as the ball is snapped. An inch misplacement can easily be a foot left or right at the goal posts.