Welcome to Hogville!      Do Not Sell My Personal Information

One thing I do miss about Petrino

Started by WilsonHog, September 14, 2017, 07:34:40 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

WilsonHog

(And I bring it up because I hope either our current coach can develop it or our next coach has it.)

Attention to detail. I had the opportunity to watch one of our practices, and I saw him sprint 30 yards after a play to rip a player for taking a wrong step. Lou Holtz was also like that; demanding. Intense. Our secondary coach when I was a student was a guy named Rich Olson. I saw Lou stop practice one day to climb all over Olson like he was a piece of playground equipment.

hawgon

I've been screaming this for years.  It is what makes a coach great and is pretty much the only thing that makes a coach great.

WilsonHog

When he was at Notre Dame, Holtz had a receiver named Pat Terrell. Great athlete, terrible hands. Tony Rice threw Terrell a pass in practice one day that was dropped. Holtz never said a word to Terrell. Instead, he walked up to Rice, stuck his finger in Rice's chest, and said, "That's your fault for throwing him the ball. I don't care if Terrell is so open you could walk over and hand him the ball. If he's your only option, throw the damn ball away."

Terrell subsequently became one helluva fine DB for the Irish.

ThisTeetsTaken

***"He must increase, but I must decrease"***

hawgon

Bert's habit of crapping the bed early, means that almost all of our games are meaningless in the grand scheme of things. 

rzrbackramsfan

Quote from: WilsonHog on September 14, 2017, 07:34:40 pm
(And I bring it up because I hope either our current coach can develop it or our next coach has it.)