Welcome to Hogville!      Do Not Sell My Personal Information

What lesson did you learn when you flew last?

Started by GusMcRae, March 22, 2012, 12:53:45 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

GusMcRae

Just from my short tenure in aviation, I've heard it said several times from veteran and rookie pilots alike, as well as experienced it myself, that I pick up on some little tidbit of knowledge or experience something new, almost every time I fly. 

I thought it would be interesting to hear what the pilots on here have learned lately, or on their last flight.

I'll start.  I am a VFR pilot, barely started working on instrument rating.  I flew a friend over to Aero Country (T31) on the outer edge of DFW's airspace near McKinney Tuesday, to pick up a Cherokee 140 he bought.  Some clouds popped up about the time we left, and after requesting flight following, SPS approach asked if I had "weather on board", which I do not.  He said there was a system that I was headed directly for that had light to moderate rain in it, but gave me a 10* vector to hit a weak spot in the cloud.  I could see the cloud, and could tell it was clear on the other side of it, so we vectored 10*, went through a little rain and pretty much lost visibility for maybe 15-20 seconds, and we were through it.  No rain the rest of the way.