Welcome to Hogville!      Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Tax exemption for active duty military personal

Started by Hutch, June 22, 2013, 02:37:04 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

Hutch

I might be late the party, but I remembered some rumors about Arkansas possibly passing a bill for State Income Tax exemption for military personal. So after a little research I found this.

http://www.arkleg.state.ar.us/assembly/2013/2013R/Bills/SB463.pdf

Looks like it will start in 2014. What are your thoughts? Am I the only one that didnt know this?

Flying Razorback

I'm ok with it, I'm an Oklahoma resident because of the state tax exemption there.  It was a pretty big chunk of money I was paying back here every year and I finally bit the bullet and switched.

Most guys I know hold Texas, Florida, Oklahoma, California, and a few other state residencies solely because of the military tax exclusions or lack of state income tax.  It would be good for the state to have some of us keep our residencies.

It still hasn't passed though, right?
Satchel Paige said, "Don't look back, something might be gaining on you..."

Ragnar Hogbrok

Never heard of it, but I'll welcome it.  I've paid Arkansas taxes for the last 11 years even though I haven't lived there in that time.  I could have changed my state citizenship and not paid any state tax, but I figured my state could use my tax money.

Here's the bill's status.  Apparently it's now an "Act."  I'm assuming this means it's passed the governor's desk?

http://www.arkleg.state.ar.us/assembly/2013/2013R/Pages/BillInformation.aspx?measureno=SB463
"Every normal man must be tempted, at times, to spit on his hands, hoist the black flag, and begin slitting throats." ― H.L. Mencken

Hogville prediction formula:

1.  Insert bad news prediction. A loss, a recruit going elsewhere, a coach leaving, etc.
2.  Tag "hope I'm wrong," on the end.
3a.  Enjoy a correct prediction.