Welcome to Hogville!      Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Something's not right in this Mallett deal.

Started by Porkyswine, January 06, 2008, 10:45:38 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

Porkyswine

January 06, 2008, 10:45:38 pm Last Edit: January 06, 2008, 10:49:06 pm by Porkyswine
So, if it's now between UCLA (Loeffler) and Tennessee, did Petrino say no?  I've always heard how bad he wanted to be a hog, and I just can't see how he wouldn't now.  The only thing I can think is that he called Petrino, and Bobby said "not interested".  I can't imagine turning away a 5 star QB.....?????  Anyone have more on this?

hawgtime

i have no insider knowledge but maybe coach P was afraid that just having Mallet on campus waiting to be eligible would drive off any other QB recruits this year and next and the year after?  unless they are full of themselves, even 5* QBs don't like the competition.  look at why Mallet supposedly didn't come to AR in the first place.

would it be better to get Mallet for 1 1/2 years from know or pull in some great QBs next year?

usnavyhogfan

i too cant imagine petrino saying no. hopefully it pans out and he comes to the u of a
The dream is free, the journey is not.

SquidBilly

Petrino quickly signed Wilson and kept Youngblood committed.  There are already a lot of QBs on scholarship so as strange as it may sound he may not have wanted to use a scholarship on a QB that could not come in and contribute next year.  2009 will be his first year to play for us and by then both Wilson and Youngblood will have a year under their belts.  Not to mention that Mallett could play for us in 09 and then go pro if he wanted to.  Then either Wilson or Youngblood, or both may have transferred out to another school for playing time and then where would that leave us?

ThisLittlePiggie

hawgwash

If he transferred for the spring semester could he participate in spring practice with his new team?

Oklahawg