Welcome to Hogville!      Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Reality has finally set in for me on hog football

Started by houstonoutgusin, December 09, 2017, 11:17:34 am

Previous topic - Next topic

houstonoutgusin

I have lived in NWA all my life, attending hog football games since I could walk. I graduated from the UofA. I have always seen our program as being on the verge of being elite.

For whatever reason, this morning reality came for a visit and I can see our program as outsiders must see it.

Like many of you I had high hopes for a big name AD and an even bigger name coach.

The reality - we hired some AD from Houston and doubled his salary. Hope he works out but may be in over his head as this is a huge promotion for him. It is a gamble hire. I bet most had to google his name to even see who he was.

Then we hired a HC. I was underwhelmed.  Again, not a big name hire but someone with upside. I hope he works out but this is another gamble hire.

This is where reality set in - the best we could do is some AD from Houston and a risky head coach hire. I sincerely want both to work out and think there is a chance that will happen, but we are definitely "that" program. A program that can not attract big names. A program that has to settle for up and comers and hope the gamble pays off. A program that has to do more with less.

I had us up on a pedestal way too long and finally realize where we are. Hope we can climb back up from here.

farmhawg

From theflyinghog