Welcome to Hogville!      Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Heart-rate training . . . .

Started by McKdaddy, January 10, 2014, 09:08:56 am

Previous topic - Next topic

McKdaddy

I underwent a cardio/metabolic assessment a couple of weeks ago.  From that my trainer built a workout program for me to follow that involves a certain amount of time each week spent working out in zones 1 & 2 and a certain amount of time spent in zones 3 & 4 (I don't recall much time in zone 5).

I bought a HRM.

I've been doing the workouts for a week now, with the awareness of staying in the prescribed zones during the workout.  A brief example: one workout involves interval training between only zones 1 & 2 ("small" interval training, obviously); whereas, another workout (my spinning class) involves dramatic interval training between zones 1 - 4.

This is my first time to do HR training.  Previously, I'd go to the gym 4-5 days per week, with 1 day being weights (high reps, low weight, little rest), a couple of days being 30-45 minutes of cardio (done at some random pace that would wind me, with no pre-determined plan), and a couple of days of spinning.

Anyone have any commentary concerning HR training?  Any thoughts or opinions to pass along?

Don't buy upgrades, ride up grades.

"You are everything that is wrong with this place . . . Ban me"

"CPI, ex-food and energy, is only good for an anorexic pedestrian"--Art Cashin

Pulled(PP)pork

I'm just starting to do this myself and learning on the fly.  I can say one thing, it's difficult (while running) to keep my heartrate in Zone 2, as I almost have to slow to a walk.  Last nights run was supposed to be a Z2 run, which is 60-70% of my max, I was reaching 95% at times, but all in all my avg was 156bpm.

Pulled out...

McKdaddy

Quote from: Pulled(PP)pork on January 11, 2014, 07:07:43 am