Welcome to Hogville!      Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Stocks portfolio

Started by AFWarrior83, October 12, 2011, 08:57:14 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

AFWarrior83

October 12, 2011, 08:57:14 pm Last Edit: October 12, 2011, 08:58:46 pm by AFWarrior83
I currently have shares in:

MSFT - Microsoft
SHLD - Sears
CSCO - Cisco

I have $2K between the three and am down about $200. Do you guys think any of these stocks will make money? They dropped a few months back, but are on the upswing. I wanted to buy AAPL (Apple) back when shares were at $350, but was nervous...and their shares have went over $400 recently!

I also read about a trucking company CGI that is looking to merge with Van Buren based USA trucking. I'm thinking about buying shares...opinions?

Just curious what some of you guys think, I'm fairly new to stocks.  I have a couple of large CD's, but the interest rates have sucked since '08, and I'm still young.

I also have $10K in a TSP account (military version of 401K). I've made a little of it, but not much.

I'm just looking for some investment advice from those who have more experience than I do.
Hogville member since 2005.

AFWarrior83

Quote from: Boar on October 12, 2011, 09:34:37 pm
It's all gambling, AF.  Read through some previous non-gloom and doom threads...there's some good info in here.

Thanks. I'm fairly young, so I'm looking long-term investments at this point. I did notice a lot of folks here like Agriculture and Energy stocks... Is "now" a good time to buy? Most stocks were lower at one point, and it seems like it's almost the wrong time to buy because the market isn't at a low point.

HawgWild

Quote from: AFWarrior83 on October 12, 2011, 08:57:14 pm
I also read about a trucking company CGI that is looking to merge with Van Buren based USA trucking. I'm thinking about buying shares...opinions?