Welcome to Hogville!      Do Not Sell My Personal Information

IMC Emergency

Started by bvillepig, January 07, 2015, 07:19:01 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

bvillepig

Apologize for being long.

In late September I flew down from HKA for a business meeting. I had to pick my way down through typical afternoon buildups and got the visual into Sebring. I was in an out of clouds and rain for the last hour of the flight and it was pretty easy and fun instrument flying.

On the return trip I studied the weather and figured out my route to avoid the worst buildups as Central Florida was really getting socked in with some nice buildups across the whole state.

I was in control of Miami Center but I could not get my clearance on the ground.  I took off from Sebring VFR but had to stay at 1800 because Miami was so busy I could not get the next clearance higher and would have been in the clouds. Finally I was able to get my clearance and climb but they re routed me to the north into the heavier rain. After I leveled off at 10000 my engine started vibrating very hard and I started to lose power from 63% all the way to 20%. I also lost airspeed from 170 down to 110 during this time.

I went through a few checks but could find nothing wrong other than the  Manifold Pressure and the Engine Vibrating very bad. I thought the prop was coming apart so I declared an emergency. I was in hard rain and clouds.

Within a few seconds after declaring I lost my two GPS and auto pilot. I asked Tampa for vectors to nearest airport and they gave me a 090 heading to Lakeland.  In the transition to hand flying and no MFD moving maps or garmins and trying to troubleshoot what was happening I had began to get somewhat spatial disoriented.