Welcome to Hogville!      Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Sand Shots

Started by Patch, June 14, 2006, 01:53:20 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

Patch

I've been playing for 9 years and have never spent the time to get good at sand shots, therefore I'm very inconsistant in the sand, both greenside and fairway bunkers. This is something I plan on working on this summer. Does anyone have a swing thought or rule of thumb that you always use in the sand?

Thunderhog Jr

:razorback:

Green side,  get a good stance, open your club face, aim a little left,  hit about 1.5 to 2 inches behind the ball and follow through.

Fairway, Pick it clean.

:razorback:
WPS  <br />Remember the days when we were a national power??  What the Hell happened?

Jim Harris

in a greenside bunker, try to maintain the weight on the left foot, and if it's a short bunker shot bring the club up steeply and make sure to follow through; a little longer shot, make a slow longer swing and follow through. For a real long bunker shot, don't open the face as much. But always follow through. My problem with bunker shots was hitting the sand and not following through, just some kind of mental block, but now it's automatic. And, as the previous poster says, the fundamentals of opening the face, opening the stance, and hitting an 1 or 2 CONSISTENTLY behind the ball apply. Where you hit the sand consistently will help with your consistency on where the ball ends up, your confidence will grow with the shot and you'll land in a bunker and not even worry about it, other than whether you can make the short putt you're going to have to save the par. Practice.
"We've been trying to build a program on a 7-8 win per season business model .... We upgraded the Business Model." -- John Tyson

oldbear

The most common thing I see when my friends don't get out of the sand is that they don't follow through.  Even if you go over to the other side of the green, you are out. 

Feralhog