Welcome to Hogville!      Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Greatest season is hog baseball history?

Started by flippinhogmana, May 28, 2015, 04:29:18 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

flippinhogmana

Full props for Andrew for national poty, but the greatest season in hog baseball history as the article announcing his selection says, who says that or thinks that?  On what basis?  I hope it turns out to be, with a CWS championship, but other than that, even with Andrew, I don't see this as our best year?   Thoughts? Agreement with the article or disagreement?
Like the erstwhile Clark Kent, my true identity is shielded.  I am an author, Nathan J. Allison is my pen name.

hogfan14

Probably meant greatest individual season, not team-wise

Inhogswetrust

Quote from: hogfan14 on May 28, 2015, 04:52:32 pm

That would be my guess since we were only one win in the CWS away from a title one time a long time ago under Norm.
If I'm going to cheer players and coaches in victory, I damn sure ought to be man enough to stand with them in defeat.

"Why some people are so drawn to the irrational is something that has always puzzled me" - James Randi

flippinhogmana

Quote from: hogfan14 on May 28, 2015, 04:52:32 pm

"In the midst of the greatest season in Arkansas baseball history, sophomore outfielder Andrew Benintendi has been named the National Player of the Year" is the direct quote as published on the official university website.

If they are referring to an individual accomplishment it is the worst written sentence I have ever read.  One little word would be nice, like "individual" season, to clarify?
Like the erstwhile Clark Kent, my true identity is shielded.  I am an author, Nathan J. Allison is my pen name.

ricepig

Quote from: flippinhogmana on May 28, 2015, 05:16:57 pm