Welcome to Hogville!      Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Winds

Started by Flying Razorback, October 06, 2011, 04:43:54 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

Flying Razorback

I'm getting tired of them.  I've been flying in northwest Oklahoma for nearly 4 years and I'm just ready for lower winds.  I'm tired of the max crosswind landings or the 50 knot pattern winds.

Today I had 40-50 knot tailwinds on downwind in the pattern and a 30-40 knot quartering crosswind down final.  Our max crosswind is 25 and we were between 23 and 26 on every pattern for an hour and a half.  This on top of flying with 2 students who are just a few flights in to the program.  Made for a long 3.5 hour flight.

I'm just ready for some nice 10 knot winds everywhere I go.
Satchel Paige said, "Don't look back, something might be gaining on you..."

gotyacovered

i agree, but for a totally diff reason, any gusts over 10 and i am grounded. i havent flown for 5 straight days. depressed.
You are what you tolerate.

dc10x1103

one thing i had always wanted to do before i retired was see a ground speed of over 700 knots.  i was flying from korea to japan and had a tailwind of a little over 200 k.  with the true air speed of 505, i got to see the ground speed at 708.  that was the only time i saw that.  it took flying at .85 m and a hellious tailwind.

bvillepig

Wow
Not to hijack this thread but what are some of the top ground speeds.

Mine was 265 in my Saratoga coming from St Louis to Blytheville one year.

Had 105 knot tailwind @ 9000

I feel for you gotyacovered.  My wife used to tease me when I first started that if there was a cloud or puff of wind I was grounded.

gotyacovered

Quote from: bvillepig on October 07, 2011, 02:29:07 pm
Wow

I feel for you gotyacovered.  My wife used to tease me when I first started that if there was a cloud or puff of wind I was grounded.