Welcome to Hogville!      Do Not Sell My Personal Information

What type of wood for smoking?

Started by 3putt, July 18, 2012, 10:41:25 am

Previous topic - Next topic

3putt

I am a novice who smokes brisket/pork/chicken about once or twice a month.  I love reading your stories and learning more about smoking. I use mesquite wood for smoking but would love to know what you suggest. I started learning with hickory but it always seemed to overpower the food so for the last few years I have stuck with mesquite.

cosmodrum

IMO, mesquite overpowers more than hickory. Use a fruit wood - I typically use apple.
Go away, batin'

cosmodrum

Quote from: Boar on July 18, 2012, 11:56:20 am
Agree with cos...any kind of fruit wood.  My favorite is cherry.

I like cherry a lot myself...especially on pork tenderloin.
Go away, batin'

DeltaBoy

Dad uses OAK with some small pecan limbs in the Brinkman.
If the South should lose, it means that the history of the heroic struggle will be written by the enemy, that our youth will be trained by Northern school teachers, will be impressed by all of the influences of history and education to regard our gallant dead as traitors and our maimed veterans as fit subjects for derision.
-- Major General Patrick Cleburne
The Confederacy had no better soldiers
than the Arkansans--fearless, brave, and oftentimes courageous beyond
prudence. Dickart History of Kershaws Brigade.

DeWayne R

I use a mix of hickory and pecan.
When you're Black and proud it's called pride but when you're White and proud it's called racism

edmo

Hickory mostly, but will mix in some apple every now and then!

Slacker

jacobp

Pecan is good enough for Whole Hog, its good enough for me when I can get my hands on it.

3putt