Welcome to Hogville!      Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Super tuning a baitcaster

Started by bondhue, August 28, 2016, 12:21:11 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

bondhue

I have been cleaning and repairing my reels for over 30 years.  I got started way back when because I could not afford to buy much equipment, and I like my stuff to work well.   I was given several old baitcasters a couple of years ago.  Abus, Shimanos, BPS Rick Clunn models.  I cleaned them all up and ordered the parts to fix them, and usually put in carbontex drag washers.

Fishing Bull the past two years has been frustrating, rewarding, then frustrating.  It has made me pay incredible attention to detail on baits, rods, electronics, and now reels.  Fishing with new friends has taught me a lot, especially that you had better be able to cast a long way as captain or co-angler, because these locals know what they are doing (some of them, at least) and they will outfish you more times than not.

I began researching how to get more distance casting, and discovered that bearing quality really matters, as does proper cleaning and proper oiling.  That sent me on a quest for better bearings.  I discovered ABEC and ISO ratings.  I also saw the prices of domestically sold ABEC 7's, which is HIGH.  I discovered that almost all, if not all, bearings are made in China and you can order them directly from the factories cheaply.  (The pricey orange ones sold in the states come from China)  The problem is quality control in China.  Once you zero in on the good stuff you are set.

Then I started researching how to super tune a reel.  A few key surfaces need to be polished to a mirror finish.  I devised my own polishing technique and a few days ago I dug into my 1999 Chronarch 100A.  This reel was given to me three years ago because the foot was loose.  I fixed that problem immediately, cleaned and oiled it, and have been using it since.  The drag was not smooth, and casting distance was mediocre.