Welcome to Hogville!      Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Planter Fasciitis...

Started by Hawgzilla, June 03, 2014, 09:21:36 am

Previous topic - Next topic

Hawgzilla

Anyone had planter fasciitis...Not sure on the spelling...Just woke up one morning about a month ago with soreness in my right heel...How do I treat it and will it get better soon...Thanks

Ragnar Hogbrok

Plantar fasciitis wouldn't necessarily be felt only in the heel.  It usually presents as pain and tightness alongbyhenplantar fascia which runs,  if memory serves, from the big toe to the heel.

In yhe Army, nwe usually treated it with pulling the big toe back until you feel a good stretch along the PF.  Also, resting position of the big toe is important.  You don't want it pointing downward (curled) when you sleep.  You'll notice the pain is worse when you wake up and and gets better throughout the day.

I'm no doctor, though.   If it's bad you should see one.
"Every normal man must be tempted, at times, to spit on his hands, hoist the black flag, and begin slitting throats." ― H.L. Mencken

Hogville prediction formula:

1.  Insert bad news prediction. A loss, a recruit going elsewhere, a coach leaving, etc.
2.  Tag "hope I'm wrong," on the end.
3a.  Enjoy a correct prediction.
3b.  Act like you're relieved you're wrong and celebrate with everyone else.

Hawgzilla

I have pain only in the heel...At first I thought I might have step on something outside barefoot..Thanks for the info...

Ragnar Hogbrok

Quote from: Hawgzilla on June 03, 2014, 10:04:29 am
I have pain only in the heel...At first I thought I might have step on something outside barefoot..Thanks for the info...

I'm not saying it's NOT PF.  There are a myriad of issues that could be causing pain in your heel. 

Look up info on "stone bruise."  My little brother got one at about 15 months of age and didn't walk for about 2 months after that because he was too scared to put weight on it.

I hope you get feeling better.