Welcome to Hogville!      Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Powerlifting question

Started by bennyl08, November 13, 2013, 12:12:33 am

Previous topic - Next topic

bennyl08

So, I'm not a complete novice to weight lifting, but most of my working out has been very unorganized and inconsistent. Mostly dumbbells, benches (I was previously doing them wrong), and just body weight exercises.

I am now starting to get into powerlifting, though my endgame is not to be able to lift massive amounts of weight. Simply, they are great compound exercises that anybody should incorporate into their fitness regime regardless of their goals. The problem here is that in my loosey goosey workouts of yesteryear, I really neglected my back, core, and shoulders, and hamstrings. So, my squats and bench are both at higher weights than my dead lift. Admittedly, I am still very leery of my form on deadlifts as well as being keenly aware of my weakness, hence I am less inclined to push my limits on that exercise, even though it is also a compound lift.

I'm kind of doing the basic "starting strength" program. However, any personal preferences of programs out there? Any tips on how to build my back strength? I've been doing some dumbbell rows.
Quote from: PorkSoda on May 05, 2016, 09:24:05 pm
damn I thought it was only a color, didn't realize it was named after a liqueur. leave it to benny to make me research the history of chartreuse

Hogberry Snortcake

Sounds like you're doing it right.  Take your time and do 'em correctly.  There's no hurry.  Don't worry what the meatheads think (from a meathead). 

spe450

The Wendler 5-3-1 system has worked wonders for me over the past few months.  I've hit personal bests in all of the lifts.  The first cycle may be a little frustrating but I have gotten to love it because it doesn't force you to go overboard with supplemental lifts.  You do your workout and a couple auxiliary lifts and hit cardio and you are done.