Welcome to Hogville!      Do Not Sell My Personal Information

For your amusement...my note to Viacom

Started by Biggus Piggus, August 06, 2008, 11:03:45 am

Previous topic - Next topic

Biggus Piggus

Good day.  I'm an analyst at (my employer's name), where we can own stocks like Viacom in our midcap funds.  In general, I'm worried about anything dependent on the old media ad economy, as the relationship between actual viewership / ad response and actual ad budgets is going to get more realistic every year.  Viacom has never done much in anticipation of trouble, and consequently the stock has been taking out support levels for quite a while now.

Nevertheless, I'm always looking for the great misunderstood opportunity.  Viacom seems to have strong creative assets with enduring value.  One thing, though, bugs me to the level I cannot ignore.  Maybe this does not reflect corporate decisionmaking ability, and if that may be true, please let me know.

Back in 2006, Paramount and Nickelodeon put out this film called Barnyard.  I see that the writer/director was born in Los Angeles, where more concrete grows than grass.  Among the list of exec and associate producers are names such as Egiziano, Contis, Parry and Pistor.  I bet they never saw a rodeo in their lives.

Stay with me.  Now, my family and I had a hard enough time watching Barnyard, because of its singular glaring flaw.  Let's just say every 5 seconds or so, we whispered to one another, "The bulls!  They have udders!  Can you believe it?"

OK.  In time we managed to not bring this up to friends and family every time we talked with them.  See, we're originally from Arkansas.  We know cows and bulls.  We really thought someone could be from Upper Volta and know cows and bulls, or even from Upper Harlem, because, see, there are aspects of the educational process that really don't take much effort.

Look at cow, look at bull, notice...differences...make mental notes, never forget them the rest of your life.