Welcome to Hogville!      Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Help with the Little Red

Started by Juboar, July 12, 2006, 07:56:20 am

Previous topic - Next topic

Juboar

I'm heading to the Little Red and Greer's Ferry for the weekend.  I fished the Little Red several years ago while on a golf trip and had a great time.  We walked in at Wildcat Showls (sp)  as I recall. 
A few questions:
Is it still open for public walk in?
Catch and release zone this time of year?
Barbless hooks and artifical only?
Recommended bait? 
Is there a good stretch of river with a take out for a canoe / kayak or wade fish only? 

Any help will be appreciated.  I'm taking my son and plan to trout fish in the morning and spend the afternoons on the lake. 

Swino

I'm not an expert on the Red, but will you be fly fishing or fishing with a spin caster?

Juboar

I will be fishing with a spin caster-  I'm a better boat, float and drink fisherman than a true trout fisherman.

I have vowed to become more proficient with a fly rod and do  admire the true trout enthusiast, but I can't figure out where they set their beer.   

Swino

I have fished the red a few times and you can't go wrong with power eggs(the string of pearls kind), corn, rooster tails, and countdown rapalas.  I'm sure somebody else on here can give you the better locations to fish.

Thunderhog Jr

:razorback: